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SUBJECT:

Maryland law provides that the Comptroller prepare a percentage income tax withholding method that
shows the percent of State income tax to be withheld from wages. The percentage used is relative to
median local tax rates of Maryland’s 23 counties and Baltimore City.

Withholding is a combination of the State income tax, which has rates graduated per taxable income,
(see chart below) and local taxes. This combined tax appears under the heading of STATE TAX on all
payroll documents, including the Employee’s Earnings Statement (pay stub) that is attached to all payroll
checks and deposit advices.

Taxpayers Filing Joint, Head of Household, | Taxpayers Filing as Single, Married Filing
or for Qualifying Widows/Widowers Separately, or as dependent Taxpayers
Taxable Income Tax Rate Taxable Income Tax Rate

$1.00 $1000 2.00 percent $1.00 $1000 2.00 percent
$1,001 $ 2,000 3.00 percent $1,001 $2,000 3.00 percent
$2,001 $3,000 4.00 percent $2,001 $3,000 4.00 percent
$3,001 | $150,000 4.75 percent $3,001 | $100,000 4.75 percent
$150,001 | $175,000 5.00 percent $100,001 | $125,000 5.00 percent
$175,001 | $225,000 5.25 percent $125,001 | $150,000 5.25 percent
$225,001 | $300,000 5.50 percent $150,001 | $250,000 5.50 percent

In excess of | $300,000 5.75 percent | In excess of | $250,000 5.75 percent

Beginning with calendar year 2008, the State of Maryland added a selection to filing status for tax
withholding. You can choose Single, Head of Household (married or unmarried), or Married status but
withhold at the Single rate on MW507 withholding form. The tax rate is the same for all categories until
you reach $100,000 in yearly income for a single filer. Employees expecting to make more than
$100,000 in 2023 and who can file as Married or Head of Household should ensure a proper MW507
form is in place for Maryland taxes.
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The county of residence, which determines the rate of the local withholding portion is the county
submitted on the Form MW507. The two-position alphabetic code in the box “County Code” on the
Employee’s Earnings Statement (pay stub) is the county recorded in the individual’s pay record.
Employees that do not submit a withholding certificate are defaulted to the highest rate of local tax, which
for the year 2023 will be 3.20%.

For most employees who are not residents of Maryland the Nonresident rate (7.0%) is used, which
includes no local tax; but does include the Special 2.25% Nonresident rate.

Employees may be eligible to claim an Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC) on their 2022 federal and
Maryland income tax returns if both their federal adjusted gross income and their earned income is less
than the following:

$53,057 ($59,187 married filing jointly) with three or more qualifying children
$49,399 ($55,529 married filing jointly) with two qualifying children

$43,492 ($49,622 married filing jointly) with one qualifying child

$16,480 ($22,610 married filing jointly) with no qualifying children

Employees who meet this income eligibility should be advised to go to the Internal Revenue Service
website at www.irs.gov, or contact their tax advisor, to see if they meet the other federal criteria. Married
employees or employees with qualifying children may qualify for up to half of the federal earned income
credit. Additionally, certain employees may also qualify for a refundable Maryland credit or a local EITC.

All employees should be notified of these eligibility standards. It is mandatory that employees with
wages less than or equal to the amounts shown above be informed. A notification flyer is included
which should be distributed to employees and also posted with other personnel regulation information
within your agency.

For further Maryland EITC information, visit our website at www.marylandtaxes.qov, or call
1-800-MD-TAXES (1-800-638-2937), or 410-260-7980 from Central Maryland.

Three attachments accompany this memorandum, the first is the local tax rate used by the Central
Payroll Bureau to compute the local portion of the combined state tax. The second attachment provides
a translation of the alpha code that appears in the County code box that is printed on the pay stub. Third
is the EITC notification flyer.

Note:
1. Individual tax calculations and estimates can be readily determined by using the Central Payroll
Bureau, Net Pay Calculator located with the following link:

https://www.marylandtaxes.gov/statepayroll/online-services.php
Click on left tab labeled “Net Pay Calculator”

2. Federal Income Tax Withholding Information may also be found on our Web site, by:

Clicking on - “Payroll Officers, then Current Memos”
Look for “2023 Federal Income Tax Withholding Information”


http://www.irs.gov/
http://www.marylandtaxes.gov/
https://www.marylandtaxes.gov/statepayroll/online-services.php

Attachment 1
Local Income Tax Withholding Rates for 2023

Local Income Tax

City or County Withholding Rate

Of Residence County Code (percentage of MD Taxable Wage)
Worcester County 24 2.25

Talbot County 21 2.40

Garrett County 12 2.65

2.70 ($1.00 - $50,000)
Anne Arundel County 02 2.81  (over - $50,000)

2.75 - ($100,000 or less MFJ, HoH or widow w/dependents)
2.75 - ($50,000 or less Single, MFS & dependents)

Frederick County 11 2.96 - (all others)
Cecil County 08 2.80
Washington County 22 2.95
Calvert County 05

St. Mary’s County 19 3.00
Allegany County 01

Carroll County 07

Charles County 09 3.03
Harford County 13 3.06
Caroline County 06

Dorchester County 10

Baltimore County 03

Baltimore City 04

Howard County 14

Kent County 15

Montgomery County 16

Prince George’s County 17

Queen Anne’s County 18

Somerset County 20

Wicomico County 23

Unknown Maryland County ** 3.20
Out of State 25-76 2.25

This table is a display of all possible Local Income Tax Withholding Rates effective for payments made on or after
January 1, 2023.

**Central Payroll Bureau is required to tax at maximum local rate of 3.20 absent of employee submitted
address data on Form W-4,



Attachment 2

Maryland Employee Earnings Statement-Maryland County Codes

County

Anne Arundel
Allegany
Baltimore
Baltimore City
Cecil

Charles
Caroline
Carroll
Calvert
Dorchester
Frederick
Garrett
Harford
Howard

Kent
Unknown Maryland County
Montgomery
Prince George’s
Queen Anne’s
Saint Mary’s
Somerset
Talbot
Washington
Wicomico
Worcester



Attachment 3

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO MARYLAND EMPLOYEES
Did you know that federal and Maryland earned income tax credits are available to certain low -
income individuals and families?

These credits can reduce the amount of income tax you owe or increase your income tax refund;
and you may qualify to receive some of these credits even if you did not earn enough income to
be required to file a tax return.

2022 Maryland Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC)

Maryland’s EITC is a credit for certain taxpayers who have income and have worked. The state EITC
reduces the amount of Maryland tax you owe. The local EITC reduces the amount of county tax you owe.
Some taxpayers may even qualify for a refundable Maryland EITC.

Most taxpayers who are eligible and file for a federal EITC can receive the Maryland state and local
EITC. The allowable Maryland credit is up to one-half of the federal credit. To be eligible for the federal
and Maryland EITC, your federal adjusted gross income and your earned income must be less than the
following:

» $53,057 ($59,187 married filing jointly) with three or more qualifying children
» $49,399 ($55,529 married filing jointly) with two qualifying children

» $43,492 ($49,622 married filing jointly) with one qualifying child
» $16,480 ($22,610 married filing jointly) with no qualifying children

Generally, to receive the Maryland EITC, you must be eligible for the federal credit. However, if you do
not meet the minimum age requirement under the federal credit and are otherwise eligible for the federal
credit for those without a qualifying child, or if you are otherwise eligible for the federal credit but do not
have a social security number (SSN), you may claim the state earned income tax credit (calculate federal
earned income credit disregarding the minimum age or SSN requirement). If your income is less than the
amounts shown in this notice, visit the Internal Revenue Service Web site at www.irs.gov, or contact
your tax advisor, to learn if you meet the other requirements. You also may be entitled to a refundable
Maryland EITC and to a local EITC.

If you are a part-year resident, you may be entitled to a prorated share of the credit, if you have Maryland
income. As of 2017, nonresidents are no longer eligible for the Maryland credit.

For more information about the Maryland EITC, visit our Web site at www.marylandtaxes.gov or call
1-800-MD-TAXES (1-800-638-2937) or from Central Maryland 410-260-7980.

Reminder: Legally married same-sex couples must file as married filing jointly or married filing
separately for tax year 2022. Employees wishing to adjust their withholding to reflect married status
should complete a new Maryland Form MW507, as well as federal Form W-4.

2022 Federal Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC)
For more information about the federal EITC,
visit: https://www.irs.gov/credits-deductions/individuals/earned-income-tax-credit-eitc
or call the IRS at 1-800-829-1040
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